Schmauder & Partner AG
HomeProfileServicesIP RightsLinks ContactUploaddeutsch

As of 1 May 2010, Albania joined the European Patent Convention.

Accordingly, the following 37 member states can now be covered with a European Patent Application:

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Monaco, Norway, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and the United Kingdom.

A package of new measures has been implemented by the EPO per 1 April 2010.

Several official fees have been raised.

Moreover, the following important changes have come into effect:

The applicant now must provide a response to the search opinion issued by the EPO search examiner prior to entry into the examination phase.

A divisional application can only be filed within 24 months after receipt of the first office action or non-unity objection.

After entry of a PCT application into the European Phase the applicant must provide quickl (within one month after receiving a corresponding notification from the EPO) a response to the written opinion issued in the International phase.

As of 1 January 2010, the Swiss Federal Institute of Intellectual Property has issued a new version of its Guidelines for Trademark Matters.

Moreover, the fee reduction for online filing of trademark applications has been abolished.